Jarman Award

Whitechapel Gallery - The Jarman Award Selected, Thu 18 May 2017, 7pm

The Jarman Award recognises and supports artists working with moving image and celebrates the spirit of experimentation, imagination and innovation in the work of emerging artist filmmakers.

The annual Award is inspired by visionary filmmaker Derek Jarman and presented by Film London in association with Channel 4 and the Whitechapel Gallery. Any mid-career artist filmmaker whose work embraces the spirit and the legacy of Jarman’s highly experimental and risk-taking approach can be put forward.

The winner receives £10,000 prize money and support from Channel 4 to produce a new film for their Random Acts arts strand.

Oreet Ashery, winner of the 2017 Film London Jarman Award.

Past winners of the award are Heather Phillipson (2016), Seamus Harahan (2015)  Ursula Mayer (2014), John Smith (2013), James Richards (2012), Anya Kirschner & David Panos (2011), Emily Wardill (2010), Lindsay Seers (2009) and Luke Fowler (2008).

Find out more about the Film London Jarman Award.

Ed atkins Jarman homepage


An introduction to the Jarman Award produced by The British Council and Film London. Featuring artist and curator interviews with John Akomfrah, Stuart Comer, Rachel Maclean and Karen Mirza and Brad Butler.


Shortlist 2017

Meet the artists shortlisted for the 10th edition of the Film London Jarman Award.



The Jarman Award 2017 features a UK-wide tour of works by the shortlisted artists, culminating in a two-day programme of screenings and events at the Whitechapel Gallery (18-19 November 2017).

Follow us on