9th Edition: The Shortlist

On 23 October 2022 Whitechapel Gallery announced the shortlist of the 9th edition of the Max Mara Art Prize for Women 2022-24.

The shortlist was selected by a panel of judges chaired by Bina von Stauffenberg, who said:

“Today, as women’s rights continue to be challenged, it could not be more urgent or relevant to ensure that women artists are championed, and heard on the world stage. For more than a decade, this unique prize has successfully enabled women-identifying artists at different stages of their careers to develop their potential in extraordinary ways. Through a six-month Italian residency and the resources to create a major new commission, it offers critical time, space and support.”

The judges included:

Rózsa Farkas, Gallerist
Claudette Johnson, Artist
Derica Shields, Writer
Maria Sukkar, Collector

The shortlisted artists are:

Rebecca Bellantoni 
Bhajan Hunjan 
Onyeka Igwe
Zinzi Minott
Dominique White 

Follow the links to watch a short film on each artist and find out what makes this year’s edition so exciting.

#MaxMaraArtPrize #MMAP9

About the Max Mara Art Prize for Women 

The Max Mara Art Prize for Women was established by Whitechapel Gallery in collaboration with the Max Mara Fashion Group in 2005, and with the participation of Collezione Maramotti from 2007. Its aim is to promote emerging female artists based in the UK, enabling them to develop their potential with the gift of time and space; and to inspire new artistic perspectives on 21st century Italy.

The winner is awarded a six month Italian residency, organised by Collezione Maramotti, tailored to fit the artist and their winning proposal for the Prize. During the residency the artist has the opportunity to realise an ambitious new project which is presented in major solo exhibitions at the Whitechapel Gallery in London and Collezione Maramotti in Reggio Emilia, Italy.

Past winners


Emma Talbot

8th Edition (2019-21)

Helen Cammock, Che si puo fare, 2019. Video still. Helen Cammock

Helen Cammock

7th Edition (2017-19)

Hart I I I

Emma Hart

6th Edition (2015-17)

Corin Sworn, Max Mara Art Prize for Women. Production still, Photo Margaret Salmon

Corin Sworn

5th Edition (2013-15)

Laure Prouvost

Laure Prouvost

4th Edition (2011-2013)

Andrea Büttner, Father

Andrea Büttner

3rd Edition (2009-2011)

Hannah Rickards

Hannah Rickards

2nd Edition (2007-2009)

Margaret Salmon, Ninna Nanna

Margaret Salmon

1st Edition (2005-2007)