Max Mara Art Prize for Women: 8th Edition (2019-21)

Emma Talbot is the 8th winner of the Max Mara Art Prize for Women.

The five shortlisted artists for the 8th edition include: Allison Katz, Katie Schwab, Tai Shani, Emma Talbot and Hanna Tuulikki.

The names of the shortlist were revealed at the historic headquarters of Max Mara, Collezione Maramotti, in Reggio Emilia, Italy, on 13 October 2019.

The shortlist was selected by a panel of judges including:

Iwona Blazwick OBE, former Director, Whitechapel Gallery (Chair)
Florence Ingleby, Gallerist, Ingleby Gallery, Edinburgh
Chantal Joffe, Artist
Hettie Judah, Art Critic
Fatima Maleki, Collector

The Max Mara Art Prize for Women was established by Whitechapel Gallery in collaboration with the Max Mara Fashion Group in 2005, and with the participation of Collezione Maramotti from 2007. Its aim is to promote emerging female artists based in the UK, enabling them to develop their potential with the gift of time and space; and to inspire new artistic perspectives on 21st century Italy.

The winning artist, announced in early 2020, is awarded a bespoke six-month artist residency, organised by Collezione Maramotti, in locations around Italy after presenting the judges with a proposal for a new body of work. The resulting work premiered at the Whitechapel Gallery and travels to the Collezione Maramotti in Reggio Emilia, Italy, in 2022

Find Out More

See past winners of the Prize here

Find the press release here

The Shortlist

MaxMara Hanna Tuulikki

Hanna Tuulikki (b. 1982)